ARDC Midgets  





Final 2014 ARDC Event in Saturday's Thunder on the Hill
 The 75th Anniversary Season of the American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) will come to a close at the Thunder on the Hill Halloween Party at the Grandview Speedway this Saturday night when ARDC is just one of the divisions to be featured in this fun filled annual event.
Steven Drevicki of Reading, PA  has already sealed the 2014 Championship for his DeGre Engineering team and car owner, Greg Fitzpatrick.  In addition to his two feature wins, Drevicki has been able to complete every race on the 2014 ARDC schedule and has amassed a long string of top five finishes.  In spite of his outstanding record, Drevicki would like nothing better than to add a Grandview Speedway win to his list of accomplishments for the 2014 season.  Many of the ARDC teams consider Grandview to be their home track and of course, want to perform well in front of family, friends and sponsors!
Even thought Drevicki has clinched the title, there is still plenty of action left to determine who the top ten will be at season's end.  Currently, Brenden Bright is second in the points chase - a position that he has held for most of the season.  2013 ARDC Champion, Trevor Kobylarz, sits in third, followed by Alex Bright and Brett Arndt.  Alex Bright leads all competitors with five wins.  Bright has one win at Grandview this season that still has many talking.  Bright came from 21st to win the twenty-five lap feature during the first Thunder on the Hill program back in May.  

Bruce Buckwalter, Jr. Nick Wean, Ryan Greth, rookie, Austin Burke and PJ Gargiulo round out the top ten in points going into the final event but Tony DiMattia, Kyle Lick and Brett Wanner are well within striking distance.  This is a very important race for many ARDC teams.

With the 2014 winding down, plans are well underway for 2015.  Many tracks do not begin to work on their new schedules until after their last race of the season however, ARDC has already scheduled several dates for 2015.  The 2015 schedule will include a return of ARDC to the tracks of Dixieland and Countyline in North Carolina as well as Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway and the Bedford Fairgrounds.  Stay tuned for more upcoming news in the months to come!



Arndt Earns Second Career Win During Anniversary Season

The return of the American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) and Brett Arndt's win on that historic night will be a red letter addition to ARDC's 75th Anniversary season!
In their first Path Valley appearance since 1993, ARDC elected to use a revenge draw for the main event.  PJ Gargiulo drew the pole and gave that position to Arndt for the start of the twenty-five lap feature event.  And that was all that Arndt needed to garner his second ARDC career win as he led from the green flag to the checkered to take the win.  
The feature winner, as well as his competitors, had high praise for the Path Valley racing surface.  Arndt related, "The track was ready when we got there.  For the feature, it was a good slick track from the bottom to the cushion," Arndt added.  
With six laps to go, 2011 ARDC Champion, Drew Heistand challenged Arndt for the lead.  Unfortunately for Heistand, the slide job was not successful as Heistand drew the late race caution.  Heistand's challenge also presented an opportunity for Tim Buckwalter who had moved up to second with about ten laps to go.  Buckwalter trailed Arndt and thought that Heistand's challenge just might create a chance for him with the leader but that opportunity never presented itself.  "I really liked racing at Path Valley," Buckwalter stated.  "That's a great track for the midgets!"  
Alex Bright was the hired gun in the Mike Heffner owned #27 midget for the Friday night show at Path Valley.  After being involved in two altercations earlier in the feature, Bright rebounded to a third place finish at the checkered.  "The axle was bent but I was still able to steer the car," the five time ARDC winner explained.  And steer the car he did as he captured the final podium finish after twenty-five laps.  
The top five was rounded out by two ARDC Champions as Trevor Kobylarz drove the R/T Racing #1 up to fourth after starting 10th on the grid.  With his fifth place finish, Steven Drevicki secured the 2014 ARDC Championship title with one more point show remaining on the ARDC schedule.  
It was a big night for the Arndts and their EF Schneider sponsored #46.  Always in the hunt, Brett Arndt has had several strong runs since mid-season.  Friday night's race at Path Valley put the exclamation point on what has been a strong season for Arndt who holds down fifth in points with just one race remaining.  
PJ Gargiulo, Tommy Kunsman Jr., Nick Wean, Brett Wanner and Brenden Bright finished in sixth through tenth.
Heat wins went to Nick Wean, Drew Heistand and Tim Buckwalter.  
Feature Finish (25 laps)
1. Brett Arndt, 2. Tim Buckwalter, 3. Alex Bright, 4. Trevor Kobylarz, 5. Steven Drevicki, 6. P.J. Gargiulo, 7. Tommy Kunsman Jr., 8. Nick Wean, 9. Brett Wanner, 10. Brenden Bright, 11. Greg Robinson, 12. Tony DiMattia, 13. Carey Becker, 14. Austin Burke, 15. Dusty Heistand, 16. Ryan Greth, 17. Drew Heistand, 18. Shawn Jackson, 19. Jim Radney, 20. Bruce Buckwalter Jr., 21. Greg Fitzpatrick,  DNS - Danny Stratton.

The wingless midgets of the American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) will return to the Path Valley Speedway for the first time in more than twenty years when ARDC heads to central Pennsylvania this Friday night racing with Path Valley Speedway Park on their schedule.  The field of midgets will take the green flag for a twenty-five lap feature event.

Path Valley Speedway Park is a perfect venue for the wingless midgets - the 1/4 mile banked clay track is optimal for plenty of "side by side" and three wide racing that the ARDC midgets are known.
Jim Radney and his Hyper Midget will be among the entries in Friday night's events.  Radney was the race leader just one week ago before being sidelined with electrical problems ten laps from the finish.  He will be looking to redeem that performance when the midgets take to the track on Friday night.    Radney will be joined by his team mate, Ryan Greth on Friday night.  Both drivers are in search of their career first ARDC Midget wins.
Current point leader, Steven Drevicki of Reading will in the field, looking for his third win of the 2014 season.  Collegeville, PA driver, Alex Bright leads the ARDC competitors with five wins and will be looking to add to his total.  Brenden Bright earned his first win of the season just a week ago and would love to duplicate that effort at Path Valley.  Tim Buckwalter and PJ Gargiulo have each picked up one win this season.  
Lou Cicconi was the ARDC winner when the club last raced on the Franklin County surface in 1993.  Johnny Heydenreich was the race winner in 1987.
Ten lap heat races will determine the starting field as well as a twelve lap B Main.  Warm-ups get underway at 7pm.



















2014 Points
July 25

1. Steven Drevicki 1282
2. Brenden Bright  1132
3. Bruce Buckwalter Jr. 1031
4. Trevor Kobylarz  1,024
5. Alex Bright   972
6. Brett Arndt   913
7. Nick Wean   789
8. Austin Burke 780
9. Tony DiMattia 771
10. Kyle Lick   755
The Dirt Track Channel", "Open Wheel Today" and "All Dirt, All the time" are trademarks of Shawn Wood Productions