website statistics



          Sportsman Modifieds  





NAPA Sportsman Shootout Series action and huge fireworks display for $20 per car load

Weedsport Speedway will celebrate the 4th of July in style this Monday, with a full card of racing activity headlined by the Sportsman Classic 75, presented by Industrial Tire of CNY. The third edition of the crown-jewel Sportsman event will draw a large and strong field of competitors for a chance to stand on top of Victory Hill in one of the biggest races of the year for the division.

The Sportsman competitors will have a chance to score a solid payday before even taking to the track for the $2,500-to-win, 75 lap feature event. The holdover 40 lap "Last Call At The Port" feature event from October, 2015 will also take place on Monday. Once the remaining consolation event and feature are completed, the slate will be wiped clean and a whole new set of heats, consolations, and a $500-to-win B-Main will set the field for the Sportsman Classic 75. The Around Town Plumbing and Heating will present the B-Main with a significant pay out to the top 3 finishers - $500 to win, $300 for second, and $200 for third. As always, the winner of the 12 lap B-Main will have the option to trade his pay for a starting spot in the 75 lap main event.

Rocky Warner claimed the checkered flag after the most recent Sportsman event at the track on June 21st, and he feels he can ride his recent momentum at The Port to one, maybe even two wins on Monday. "Weedsport is a fun but tough little track. We start 13th in the first feature so it will be tough, but if the track slicks off like our most recent visit, I think we have a shot," stated Warner. "There is a ton of competition up there as well, which makes the wins all that more special."

However, for Warner to take the win on the 4th of July, he will have to hold off a star-studded field of Sportsman drivers, featuring names such as Dave Marcuccilli, the defending Sportsman Classic Champion, and Ricky Newton, who picked up the first of two Sportsman events held at the track in 2016, along with many more of the region's top competitors. Along with the Sportsman, the NY6A 600cc Micro Sprints will also be on the card Monday.

The nights action will also include a huge fireworks display and LED light show to celebrate our nations independence. With great racing, great food and entertainment, and all for only twenty dollars a car load, this event is the perfect way for the whole family to cap of the holiday weekend.

Pit gates swing open on Monday, July 4th at 3:00 pm, with grandstand gates opening at 4:00 pm, and racing action beginning at 5:30 pm. General admission is $20 per car, or $15 for adults (18+), $5 for students (ages 11-17), with children 10 and under free. Pit admission is $25.


Short Track Super Series Open Sportsman Venture To I-88 Speedway Tuesday, June 21; $25 Per Car-Load Grandstand General Admission Granted By Jamie & Denise Page!

AFTON, NY – The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Fueled By VP Open Sportsman take the headlines next Tuesday, June 21.

The series visits Jamie and Denise Page’s pristine Afton Fairgrounds three-tenths-mile oval for a 30-lap main offering a minimum of $1,000 to the winner and $100 to take the green. STSS Open Sportsman top a tripleheader Tuesday program that will also include the GRIT Series Crate 602 Sportsman and Fight Night Street Stocks.

The STSS Open Sportsman got underway at Big Diamond Speedway in Minersville, Pa., on Tuesday, May 17 with Montgomery, N.J., youngster Brandon Grosso taking the checkered ahead of Chuck Fayash, Brian White, Mike Lisowski and Shane Jablonka. A field of 32 STSS Open Sportsman signed in.

Memorial Day Weekend, May 29, brought the series to Thunder Mountain Speedway in Center Lisle, N.Y. However, rain after qualifying postponed the ‘Lightning on the Mountain’ feature to Sunday, Sept. 4 in a doubleheader with the second scheduled STSS Open Sportsman visit to the Mountain. A field of 31 cars registered at Thunder Mountain.

Attention now turns to I-88 on June 21. With a base $1,000 to win posted, I-88 management is also offering a “Gambler’s” program – any driver posting a $20 “Gambler’s Fee” prior to qualifying will receive an increased $1,500 should they win the feature.

2016 Short Track Super Series  Open Sportsman Schedule

Tuesday, May 10 – Big Diamond Speedway/Minersville, PA – Anthracite Assault – WINNER: Brandon Grosso

Sunday, May 29 – Thunder Mountain Speedway/Center Lisle, NY – Lightning on the Mountain – FEATURE POSTPONED TO SEPT. 4

Tuesday, June 21 (Rain Date: June 22) – I-88 Speedway/Afton, NY

Tuesday, July 5 (Rain Date: July 6) – Accord Speedway/Accord, NY – Battle of the Bullring 4

Sunday, July 17 (Rain Date: TBA) – Utica-Rome Speedway/Vernon, NY

Sunday, September 4 (Rain Date: September 5) – Thunder Mountain Speedway/Center Lisle, NY – Sportsman Sunday

Friday, October 7 (Rain Date: October 9) – I-88 Speedway/Afton, NY – Short Track SuperNationals 9 – Championship Points

Short Track Super Series Fueled By VP Open Sportsman Point Fund (*based on 7 events): 1. $1,250 (plus drum of VP Racing Fuel); 2. $750; 3. $500; 4. $350; 5. $250; 6. $225; 7. $200; 8. $175; 9. $150; 10. $125.

*Should a Thunder Mountain Speedway regular win the championship, speedway promoter Karl Spoonhower will pay a $1,000 cash bonus
























































2015 DIRTcar
Sportsman Points
1. M. Desjardins 2059
2. Brad Rouse 1958
3. Louie Jackson Jr. 1770
4. Shane Pecore 1763
5. Jessica Powers 1761
6. Joey Ladouceur 1705
7. Corey Wheeler 1659
8. B. Ladouceur 1606
9. Mike Stacey 1513
10. Martin Pelletier 1440 

"The Dirt Track Channel", "Open Wheel Today" and "All Dirt, All the time" are trademarks of Shawn Wood Productions