Seavey Crowned POWRi National Midget Champion, Earns Rookie Honors

Belleville, IL - In what has been a banner year for the Sutter, California driver, Logan Seavey captured not only the 2017 POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League championship, but also took Rookie of the Year honors with the League.  Wrapping up the 2017 season with only two wins, it is clear that it was Seavey's consistency that brought home the championship for the rookie midget driver.

Piloting the Toyota-powered Factory Boss Performance, Rockwell Security/RAM's Racing-sponsored entry, Seavey's first victory of 2017 came in the final night of Illinois SPEED Week at Lincoln Speedway with a last lap pass over Michael Pickens for the win.  Seavey again found victory lane, this time at Macon Speedway for the Third Annual Camfield Memorial.  With 18 top tens, and nine top five finishes in 23 starts, Seavey was able to garnish 5300 points for the season over runner-up Tucker Klaasmeyer's 5130.

Klaasmeyer's nine top fives and 16 top tens bolstered the Paola, Kansas driver to the second position, but were not enough to overcome Seavey.   Jake Neuman finished the season in third with 4730 overall points in 23 starts.  Spencer Bayston, the driver with the most victories in 2017 (five) filled the fourth position with 4560 points.  Zach Daum, the defending League champion finished fifth with 4490 after suffering a season-ending crash at Spoon River Speedway in the final phase of the season.

Andrew Felker took sixth with Ryan Robinson in seventh.  Rookie Aidan RoosEvans finished eighth.  Tanner Thorson and Tyler Thomas rounded out the top ten, each tallying four victories with the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League in 2017 while running a condensed schedule.


POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets Slated to Kick Off 2018 in Florida

Belleville, IL - For the first time ever, the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League will enter into the sunshine state, kicking off the 2018 season at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Florida.  Set for Friday, February 9th and Saturday, February 10th, the Inaugural Toyota Sunshine State Midget Challenge will headline sanctioned national dirt midget racing in Florida for the first time in over a decade.  Thursday, February 8th is slated to be the practice night, prefacing the double-header weekend.

"We have been working with Tom Bean and the Bubba Raceway Park staff throughout the 2017 season to secure the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League's maiden voyage to Florida," stated POWRi Director of Competition Jason McCord.  "We wanted to make the awesome news public as quickly as possible, as this will be a historic event for POWRi.  We look forward to working with Tom, Bubba, and the Bubba Raceway Park staff to create what will be a marquee event for years to come."

"We are super excited to bring national dirt midget racing back to Florida and feature in our 7th Annual Bubba Army Winter Nationals Schedule at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Florida," said track owner Bubba Clem.  "We have made sprint car racing a big focus of our Winter National Schedule and felt that the next logical step was to return national midget racing to Florida.  BRP's unique D-shape, high-banked 3/8 mile will make for some unbelievable dirt midget racing, so come enjoy the warm weather, sun, and the most exciting winter racing in America this February with us at BRP!"



Du Quoin, Illinois.........The third running of the "Junior Knepper 55" returns to the USAC Midget calendar on Saturday, December 16 indoors at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Though the special event carries no points toward the season championship, it has quickly become one of the most coveted races to win. Boasting large car counts and a star-studded field, the "Knepper 55" has already produced its share of memorable moments on the 1/6-mile dirt track located inside the building adjacent to the famed Du Quoin State Fairgrounds one-mile dirt oval.

In the inaugural running in 2015, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. electrified the crowd in the 55-lap feature, coming from the back of the pack to score the victory in the final laps. In 2016, Tyler Courtney earned his first career USAC-sanctioned Midget feature victory in his first start for the Clauson/Marshall Racing team.

The 55-lap event honors the memory of one of USAC's most accomplished car owners - Walter "Junior" Knepper of Belleville, Illinois - whose famed yellow number 55 midgets and sprint cars raced to 58 career USAC feature victories, including 34 in Sprints and 24 in Midgets, with drivers Bob Wente, Tom Bigelow, Mel Kenyon, George Snider, Dana Carter, Rich Vogler and his son Steve Knepper.

Nick Knepper, grandson of Junior and son of 13-time USAC National Midget winner Steve Knepper, will promote the event along with Derek LeMaster.

"Derek and I are very excited to announce the third running of the 'Junior Knepper 55,'" Nick Knepper said. "The previous versions of this event have been tremendous and we will continue to build upon our past successes. I'd like to thank my family, friends, and USAC for the continued support. I look forward to seeing everyone at the Southern Illinois Center on December 16th."

Cars are scheduled to get on track at 4pm (Central). A format utilizing passing points will be used to seed the feature lineups. Event times, ticket prices and additional information will be announced in the near future.














"The Dirt Track Channel", "Open Wheel Today" and "All Dirt, All the time" are trademarks of Shawn Wood Productions